VILLA WIGMAN + HELLERAU = TANZPAKT Dresden

TANZPAKT Dresden pursues the goal of fundamentally strengthening the local and regional independent dance scene. This primarily involves the realization of two measures which, in interaction, focus on the development of structures that have a national impact:

On the one hand, concrete construction investments are being made to secure and commission the former home of Mary Wigman as rehearsal and experimentation space VILLA WIGMAN. The centre is run independently by the Villa Wigman for TANZ association, which emerged from the dance scene, and will offer unique conditions nationwide.

On the other hand, together with HELLERAU, a comprehensive residency and production programme is being set up with partner institutions from all areas of social life. Equipped with funds for artistic research as well as for production, high-quality productions of Saxony’s independent scene will be developed for presentation in HELLERAU. The resulting stage productions will then be presented in the festival Dancing About from 22 September to 3 October 2021. A scientific-artistic academy in January 2021 with regional dancers and international guests will form the center of the two-year programme, giving time and space to reflect the current situation and to discuss the future of artisitic work.

Impressions of the residency showings in late-summer 2020

Partners

Villa Wigman für TANZ e.V.
Arrow

The Villa Wigman is the former place of work of the dancer and choreographer Mary Wigman at Bautzner Straße 107 in Dresden. It is supported by the association "Villa Wigman für TANZ e.V. which maintains and gradually renovates the former school building as a cultural-historical location and operates it as a rehearsal and production site for contemporary dance and other performing arts.

The house has one large and two small rehearsal rooms, which can be rented for artistic productions, trainings, rehearsals, workshops or seminars by the hour, day or week. These rooms are also available for other events by arrangement. The association also rents out offices, meeting rooms and storage space.

HELLERAU - European Centre for the Arts
Arrow

HELLERAU, built in 1911 as a festival theatre and educational institution for music and rhythm according to the visions of the pioneer of modern architecture Heinrich Tessenow and the music teacher Émile Jaques-Dalcroze, developed into a laboratory of artistic modernity within an eventful history.

HELLERAU – European Centre for the Arts is today one of the most important centres for contemporary art in Germany and Europe.

HELLERAU acts as an interdisciplinary co-production and guest performance house and offers contemporary arts dance, music, theatre, performance, media art and visual arts spaces for production and presentation.

HELLERAU initiates and promotes debates on art and society with thematic focuses, festivals and audience formats.

HELLERAU cooperates with other cultural partners regionally, nationally and internationally and is involved in numerous networks.

HELLERAU is a stage by the state capital Dresden and a member of The Alliance of International Production Houses.

From the 2018/19 season onwards, the artistic director Carena Schlewitt will shape the fortunes of the house and, together with the HELLERAU team, will set the program with many artists and about 350 events per season.

Contact

Christoph Bovermann
Artistic Production Coordination
+49 351 264 62 85
bovermann@hellerau.org

Tobias Steiner
Artistic Project Coordination
+49 351 264 62 86
steiner@hellerau.org

Villa Wigman + HELLERAU = TANZPAKT Dresden

TANZPAKT Dresden verfolgt das Ziel der grundlegenden Stärkung der lokalen und regionalen freien Tanzszene. Dabei geht es in erster Linie um die Realisierung von zwei Maßnahmen, die im Zusammenspiel die Entwicklung national ausstrahlender Strukturen in den Fokus nehmen:

Zum einen erfolgen konkrete Bauinvestitionen für die Sicherung und Inbetriebnahme des ehemaligen Wohnhauses von Mary Wigman als Proben- und Experimentierraum Villa Wigman. Das Zentrum wird eigenverantwortlich von dem aus der Tanzszene hervorgegangenen Verein Villa Wigman für TANZ betrieben und soll bundesweit einmalige Bedingungen bieten.

Zum anderen wird gemeinsam mit HELLERAU ein umfassend angelegtes Residenz- und Produktionsprogramm mit Partnerinstitutionen aus allen Bereichen des gesellschaftlichen Lebens aufgelegt. Ausgestattet mit Mitteln für die künstlerische Forschung wie auch für die Produktion werden folgend qualitativ hochstehende Inszenierungen der freien Szene Sachsens zur Präsentation in HELLERAU erarbeitet. Die entstehenden Bühnenproduktionen werden abschließend in einem Festival im Herbst 2021 präsentiert. Eine wissenschaftlich-künstlerische Akademie für und mit regionalen Tanzschaffenden und internationalen Gästen im Januar 2021 bildet das Zentrum des zweijährigen Programms und bietet Zeit und Raum zur Reflektion der derzeitigen Situation und zum Visionieren der Zukunft künstlerischen Arbeitens.

Die Partner

Villa Wigman für TANZ e.V.
Arrow

Die Villa Wigman ist die ehemalige Wirkungsstätte der Tänzerin und Choreografin Mary Wigman in der Bautzner Straße 107 in Dresden. Träger ist der Verein „Villa Wigman für TANZ e.V.“ , der das ehemalige Schulgebäudes als kulturhistorischen Ort erhält und schrittweise saniert, sowie als Proben- und Produktionsort für den zeitgenössischen Tanz und weiterer Darstellender Künste betreibt.

Das Haus verfügt über einen großen sowie zwei kleine Probensäle, die für künstlerische Produktionen, Trainings, Proben, Workshops oder Seminare stunden-, tage- oder wochenweise angemietet werden können. Diese Räume stehen, nach Absprache, auch für weitere Veranstaltungen zur Verfügung. Außerdem vermietet der Verein Büros, Besprechungsräume und Lagerflächen.

HELLERAU - Europäisches Zentrum der Künste
Arrow

HELLERAU, 1911 als Festspielhaus und Bildungsanstalt für Musik und Rhythmus nach den Visionen des Wegbereiters der modernen Architektur Heinrich Tessenow und des Musikpädagogen Émile Jaques-Dalcroze erbaut, entwickelte sich innerhalb einer wechselvollen Geschichte zu einem Laboratorium der künstlerischen Moderne.

HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste zählt heute zu den wichtigsten internationalen Zentren der zeitgenössischen Künste in Deutschland und Europa.

HELLERAU agiert als interdisziplinäres Koproduktions- und Gastspielhaus und bietet den zeitgenössischen Künsten Tanz, Musik, Theater, Performance, Medienkunst und Bildende Kunst Räume für Produktion und Präsentation.

HELLERAU initiiert und fördert mit Themenschwerpunkten, Festivals und Publikumsformaten Debatten über Kunst und Gesellschaft.

HELLERAU kooperiert mit anderen kulturellen Partner:innen regional, national und international und engagiert sich in zahlreichen Netzwerken.

HELLERAU ist eine Bühne der Landeshauptstadt Dresden und Mitglied im Bündnis internationaler Produktionshäuser.

Seit der Spielzeit 2018/19 gestaltet die Intendantin Carena Schlewitt die Geschicke des Hauses und setzt gemeinsam mit dem HELLERAU-Team das Programm mit vielen Künstler:innen bei rund 350 Veranstaltungen pro Spielzeit um.

Kontakt

Christoph Bovermann
Künstlerische Produktionskoordination
+49 351 264 62 85
bovermann@hellerau.org

Tobias Steiner
Künstlerische Gesamtprojektkoordination
+49 351 264 62 86
steiner@hellerau.org